A strange lump of metal...
Two weeks ago a sword of my company was broken in half during a fight: it wasn't a good sword, not for a long shot, and I seized the opportunity to eliminate something that was very embarassing to me, with its word "excalibur" on the pommel and the simil-celtic dragons on the hilt (I know, it was horrible, but for internal politics I couldn't remove it sooner), and I transformed it in a long knife, grounding the hilt and the pommel.

The second half, shorter, I thought to transform in a simple knife for me, with a wood grip and no pommell or hilt. I'm not an expert, but with the long work I did to the other half I judged it of cast-iron, and thinked of toughen it in a fire (of beech-coal) and in the meantime remove some carbon from it by placing it near the fan...

I have see some very strange things in my short life, but this is the first I see a lump of metal burn to nothing like paper, with a very pretty green-blue flame and not a residue to speak of (I know, I have searched and cleaned the whole fireplace).

Any ideas about this story? What metal cuold it have been? The only one I know that burn like that is the U238...
Sounds like it was made of Aluminum. The temp range for melting aluminum and having it burn up is rather small. That's why when you put an empty aluminum can in a fire it disappears instead of having a pool of molten aluminum at the bottom of the fire.
Thats my guess.
Fairly pure aluminum should burn with more of a silver color. If the color you saw in the flames was "blue" and "green" it sounds like it was an alloy that included some copper and barium compounds, probably some residual chloride/salts.