A Hail, a Comment and a Question (or Two)
Hail - I'm an utter noob but, there is an inexplicable, magical quality to the pre-modern era - and to the martial arts of that era - that draws me in.

Comment - Being in the business of information/content design & programming myself, I can't help but praise the way in which this website has been put together - very tastefully done, detailed, lots of content and what an impressive community. I won't be making my first real sword purchase until I've paid for a subscription here - that much is clear.

Question - Will anyone recommend the best starting book and/or DVD for the wannabe western martial arts student? I've located a list at http://www.thearma.org/RecommendedList.htm, but needless to say I'm still not quite sure where to start.

Question - Does anyone know of any classes/groups who practice western martial arts in the Northern California Bay Area? I live in Walnut Creek. I would also be interested if anyone knows of any artists in this area who offer tours and/or familiarity-type classes on the construction of medieval weapons and/or armor.

Cheers,
Ben
Re: A Hail, a Comment and a Question (or Two)
Bay Area has these two schools:
http://www.scholasaintgeorge.org/intro.html
Davenriche Academy (no link as of yet).

Sacramento has BYFA.

What era are you looking at?

What styles are you interested in?

I personally like the German material, I.33, dussack, and Ringneck, translations of which can be found at http://www.chivalrybookshelf.com/.

I also am quite handy at Swetnam rapier and George Silver.

You can sample lots or focus on just a few.

You can check out this site http://www.calsmith.org/ for classes on handling hot iron and hammers.

Cheers
Jim
Welcome to myArmoury, Ben!