What is a CNC Machine?
the subjectline is my question. i have seen it mentioned, but dont know what it is. is ist a cold cutting machine like a hydro cutter, a miilling machine or what?
Yes, yes and yes. :lol:

CNC isn't a specific type of machine, but rather a specific way of controlling a machine. It's computer controlled. Some of the more fancy ones you can lock a block into the mill (or lathe, or whatever), index a point on the block, and use a file, like a cad drawing, uploaded to the computer controller. The machine pretty much takes it from there and cranks out your part. Really good for high output production lines (router bits, factory knives, etc.). For the time it takes to program it, it's not worth it for just a single object.
I'm a CNC/Fitter and Turner apprentice and you can get CNC for just about anything that can do any job you need it to...Alot of the time with the older FANUC controllers using CAD as an imput for the program doesnt work well and you can crash it (just the experience from within our shop, we no longer use CAD programs that can be imported as a program). our major machines are either FANUC, MAZATROL (MAZAC) and OKUMA...basically I get to run the best machines out of Japan and the US.

I run ATM the biggest CNC machine in the southern hemisphere, 10 pallet OKUMA machining center and we do things like anchor ends for hydraulics, clevis etc etc.

It needs the use of coolant for all jobs running at high speeds, other wise swarf build up becomes a problem...you have your CNC milling machines which can drill and mill basically then you have CNC lathes. All quite easy to learn if you have the apptitude, but its easy as hell to crash one when running at the speeds these things do...and ALOT can go wrong with them from just regular use.

www.ptehydraulics.com.au is where i work and if you look on there you can see some of the M/C's i run...it hasnt got our new machines on there but some of the more impressive stuff is on there.

:) *rant off*