Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search

myArmoury.com is now completely member-supported. Please contribute to our efforts with a donation. Your donations will go towards updating our site, modernizing it, and keeping it viable long-term.
Last 10 Donors: Daniel Sullivan, Anonymous, Chad Arnow, Jonathan Dean, M. Oroszlany, Sam Arwas, Barry C. Hutchins, Dan Kary, Oskar Gessler, Dave Tonge (View All Donors)

Forum Index > Off-topic Talk > Cold Bluing Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Josh MacNeil

PostPosted: Fri 22 Aug, 2008 3:30 pm    Post subject: Cold Bluing         Reply with quote

Hey everyone. I want to try cold bluing but I've never done it before and am totally ignorant on the subject. I noticed Thom R. used it on his Cold Steel axe project ( http://www.myArmoury.com/talk/viewtopic.php?t=13772 ) and i liked the way the finish looked. I didn't wanna hijack his thread so I started a seperate one. Can anyone pass me on to some info as to how to go about it? Thanks.

-JM
William Goodwin

Reading list: 20 books

PostPosted: Fri 22 Aug, 2008 4:46 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

I had a thread sometime back on blueing the guard & pommel of my Windlass 15th c. longsword

http://www.myArmoury.com/talk/viewtopic.php?t...highlight=

Not a hard process using Birchwood Casey gun blue.

Make sure the item your going to treat is well cleaned of any oils and dry.

Try a small test area first...then the number of treatments will determine the overall effect. Use a small 1/4" or 1/2" art brush to apply..the smaller brush makes it easy to get to small places. Not all
metal reacts the same to it. I did the basket of my Windlass type 2 Schiavona and it turned out completely
different from the longsword.

Cheers

Bill

Roanoke Sword Guilde

roanokeswordguilde@live.com
"I was born for this" - Joan of Arc
Joel Minturn