Katana's piercing ability
I was looking at the massive amount of samurai vs knights topics. Yes yes, I know they are stupidly unrealistic, but I'm just going to ask a simple question that would set my mind to rest.

What is the ability of a katana to thrust? I would assume that it would be minimal, but some have argued otherwise. Could you for example, thrust with the katana with blade down, as I have heard that the only thrust possible requires facing the blade up, so that the motion of the hand + weight of the blade would drive the point into the target.

Also, can a katana thrust through mail? This has always been my take on the S vs. K topic, that japanese weaponry simply is not meant/able to penetrate/sheer/hammer plate or mail.
I'm no expert on Japanese swords, so don't quote me on this, but from what I've heard the katana is a decent thruster, though the tip is designed for cutting rather then thrusting.

I'm pretty sure there were kenjutsu schools with advanced thrusting techniques, anyway. So I wouldn't call it a bad thrusting sword, just not designed for it.
I agree, it's not the best, but it's a strong tip. With enough force, it can go through chain and do damage.
Although a Katana had a good edge, the tip is still fairly wide - surely you'd need something a little more 'pointy' for an effective thrust through plate or mail?

If you attempted to thrust a Katana through mail wouldn't the wide point 'choke' once it had penetrated a short distance as the force would be dissapated by the wide contact area?

Also, as the blade is curved, would there be sideways shift to the thrust negating some of the force?
There are some observations on a katana in Michael Edelson's Riveted Maille and Padded Jack Tests. I don't think he tried to thrust through mail with it, but it still shows how devastating the thrust can be with a katana against a jack...