Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Off-topic Talk > Is this sabre worth anything? Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Toni R.

PostPosted: Wed 19 Mar, 2008 12:22 am    Post subject: Is this sabre worth anything?         Reply with quote

Hello.

I would like to get some opinions about this item, that is auctioned here in Finland.

http://www.huuto.net/fi/showitem.php3?itemid=73968351

Starting bid isn't too bad. I'm no expert with these kind of swords...so what I would like to know is, that if this sword is a tourist-piece-of-...., or an actual antique sword.

To me it looks like it might well be at least worth for that 50-60€ it seems to be sold at the moment.

Any information is welcome...thank you in advance.

-T
Christopher Gregg

Reading list: 2 books

PostPosted: Wed 19 Mar, 2008 7:49 am    Post subject: sword         Reply with quote

Your sword is an Indian Tulwar. It may be an antique, but it may perhaps be no more than 40-50 years old. I have a 200 year old Tulwar and it looks much "older" than your pictured sword. I only paid $100 US for mine on eBay, and I could have gotten it for as low as $75. Hope this helps. Happy
Christopher Gregg

'S Rioghal Mo Dhream!
Norman McCormick

PostPosted: Wed 19 Mar, 2008 1:21 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Hi Toni,
This sword, in my opinion, is a very modern Indian made tourist type sword in the style of a Tulwar, inferior steel and poorly made, as far as value is concerned it depends on your point of view and is purely a personal matter.
Regards,
Norman.
Jean Thibodeau

Reading list: 1 book

Spotlight topics: 5

PostPosted: Wed 19 Mar, 2008 5:52 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Norman McCormick wrote:
Hi Toni,