Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Off-topic Talk > My second Youtube clip... Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Van de Laak

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb, 2008 5:05 pm    Post subject: My second Youtube clip...         Reply with quote

Hi guys,

A while ago I posted here a clip, I got several nice constructive comments. Yesterday I made a new one, a very short clip. I am not very happy with the result, (e.g. missing some basic cuts, bad blade alignment and no side stepping) but I posted it anyway. Any comments are welcome. Keep in mind that I am a total beginner and that I only have Tobler's book "Fighting with the German Longsword" and the DVD from "Ochs". Thank you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7n3OffS_O-U
Michael Edelson

Spotlight topics: 2

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb, 2008 5:18 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Hi Van,

It's hard to do this from watching a video, but the biggie here is that you cock the sword back before striking. Practice striking with from Vom Tag with the sword resting on your shoulder rather than held near it so that you have less of a temptation to cock the sword before striking.

The first thing that should happen in a cut is that the tip of the sword should move towards your opponent. Your body shouldn't so much as twitch before that happens.

Also, from what I can see, you need to work on stopping your cuts in a specific guard and relaxing...you seem too tense, though that could just be a misperception.

Your footwork needs work, as you know, and the best way to do that is to isolate it and work on that slope step...that is the most difficult footwork element in the system.

If I were you I'd work on the first guard transition drill (pflug to ochs) from Fighting extensively until the slope step is second nature.

New York Historical Fencing Association
www.newyorklongsword.com

Byakkokan Dojo
http://newyorkbattodo.com/