Jason and the Argonauts
I visited a friend of mine, and he happened to rent a DVD with 2000 made-for-TV "Jason and the Argonauts" film (his son is into ancient Greek myths). Anyway, the movie itself is nothing to talk about, but I was somewhat surprised by the depiction of argonauts' armor and weapons. I am by no means an expert on ancient Greeks, but most of it seemed surprisingly accurate, at least to me - more than what I usually see on TV. This was especially noticeable in contrast with film itself being rather cheesy (in my opinion, anyway).

Some things that I liked:

- Most helmets did not have crests on them. I think I only saw 2 helmets with crests, one was on the king who killed Jason's father (this crest was set across the helmet, like the one on the statue of a spartan officer). Another one looked somewhat odd, it was tall and not wide (like capital U turned upside down) and it looked like it was made of same metal as helmet. The rest of helmets were unadorned, mostly Corinthian but some open-faced (almost a scull cap). They were not shiny either, and did look like bronze or copper. It looked, to me, fairly close to what typical greek warriors would wear (maybe in a different time).

- The shields looked just the right size, covering roughly from top of the neck to top of thigh. In most other movies I've seen the shields were a bit too small.

- The spears were also just the right size, not the long ones you see in many movies, but about a foot or two above soldier's head. This I think is how they are often depicted on Greek vases.

- The swords looked right (leaf shaped straight swords and, at least in one scene, a kopis). In a scene where they flee from garpias, one can see the swords hanging from their left back side, below the armpit - is this how they were usually worn ?

All in all I thought it was better researched than most other "ancient" films, esp. from 50s - 60s.