Going to Europe- Where to GO?
So I'm, going to Spain for a semester to study abroad in Madrid. I am a History student and a lover of ancient and medieval arms and armor, and warfare. Having never been to Europe before, the idea of being in the countries that I have read about is pretty exciting. Im going to have some time to travel to other countries and I was wondering what are some of the necessary sights and places to see while I am over there? I have the opportunity to go pretty much wherever I want so distance is not a problem. Any help is appreciated!
You could head northeast to Austria, hitting the Museo Stibbert in Florence, Landezeughaus in Graz and
Künsthistoriches Museum in Vienna.

You could head northwest to Leeds (Royal Armouries) and York (York Castle Museum, Jorvik Viking Center, etc) hitting the Armory of the Dukes of Burgundy in the Koninklijk Museum van het Leger en de Krijgsgeschiedenis, Brussels. The downside is that the dollar is so weak in the UK that there's no longer any such thing as inexpensive travel there for Americans, especially if you don't have a car (which allows you to get off the beaten path and take advantage of country B&Bs). The Wallace Collection is fantastic, of course, but I'd suggest just hopping off the train and spending a few hours there before heading off to Leeds or York. The cost of living in London is just outrageous for Americans. Expect to spend $250-$300 per day there unless you're willing to do the Hostel Flop and buy your food at grocery stores. If you do decide to stay in London, be sure to hit both the Museum of London and British Museum. Bloomsbury is a good place to look for cheap lodging as it's full of university students, has the British Museum and is almost dead-center between the Wallace Collectiona and MOL.
If you crave English and ancient arms & armour, catch a cheap flight to Dublin. The Irish Republic is on the Euro.